History

 Dehesa School Est. 1876 sign
Dehesa's Proud History

Our one-school district, located in what was once known as the Upper Sweetwater Valley, was established on April 5, 1876 educating a dozen or so local children in a 16' x 14' one-room school house. A succession of one-room schools followed, and in 1892 a bell was ordered from a foundry on the East coast, and a bellfry was added to the most recent structure. Since that time, the Dehesa School Bell has been carefully moved with each change, resting today in a special tower near the school house built in 1951. The school now proudly boasts at least one class for each grade (K-8), and follows the tradition of excellence with small classes and a family atmosphere just as we have for the past 130 years.

Image of the Old Dehesa School Bell


Image of the History of Dehesa School

Image of Old Dehesa School House

Subpages (2): History History
Comments